Beyond… A Journey Within

Swati Singh

Photography is bliss

No, I am not a photographer! But what I got to learn during accompanying a friend on an expedition of photography is that it is undoubtedly a blessing. You gradually notice things which were oblivious and shortly it becomes a habit.  A leaf making way out of a fence never caught my attention before but now it is signifying expression of freedom! A swing in the park waiting for kids never felt so forlorn before. The roots of Banyan tree has always amazed me but the insight which the camera lens gave to it astounded me even more. I never knew dissolving deep blue color into water can be captured in such aesthetic way and every time I see it, whole new sets of thoughts crosses the freeway within my mind.
Copyrights Reserved


What I sensed within a few days is that I started seeking beauty in everything. I began noticing how beautiful even a pebble is!  I am now in perpetual search of themes. I tell it, and when it gets clicked I feel the same joy as the photographer. I feel the joy; now am sure what great photographers across the world are exhilarated about!

It’s like becoming a tourist in your homeland. Remember when you went to a trip to the hills and you felt two eyes are less to see the beauty of the place? You somehow try to look all four sides while walking to be sure you don’t miss a thing. Clicking things which are ‘obvious’ to the natives. That’s exactly what we feel (assuming you live in metro city like me)! Try pausing by a lake, a garden, even a road, backyard, terrace, balcony, stairs; concisely, anything to everything and look at things a little more intently. I never knew fern, in my office building, has small star-shaped leaves until it was observed and clicked. It did not stop here, I googled about it and found out that a fern’s leaf is called a frond! See, am becoming a botanist, or maybe just a little more aware! Aware that there is more to life which is getting lost in the labyrinth of schedules and routines of life. There is more to it than just a ‘garden downstairs’ or a ‘park nearby’ or ‘just another building’ or a ‘busy street’. There is more to life than just an ‘existence’!

What are you waiting for? Grab a camera; start clicking, but bear in mind that it is for you, your growth and contentment, not for ‘likes’ and appreciation. They will come once your art will start gratifying you. This might take time. But as Shakespeare said, “Though patience be a tired mare, yet she will plod.”
Start with gazing at the sky, saw the color? Tomorrow the color would be different even at the same time of the day; yes, sky is just not blue. It is azure, turquoise, alice blue, powder blue and don’t get me started on colors of twilight and dawn.  When you’re done, look at the floor beneath you. Saw those ant lines? And the little fissure there at the corner with a little seedling? Let’s open our eyes, look all over, at every turn!

Though, they say, life is a projection, everything around is an illusion created by us; but as long as I am caught up in the web of illusory life, let this be one of my favorite discovery along the journey of life.

I might help you find subjects! 🙂

2 comments on “Photography is bliss

  1. Radha
    June 19, 2013

    “Start with gazing at the sky, saw the color? Tomorrow the color would be different even at the same time of the day; yes, sky is just not blue. It is azure, turquoise, alice blue, powder blue and don’t get me started on colors of twilight and dawn. When you’re done, look at the floor beneath you. Saw those ant lines? And the little fissure there at the corner with a little seedling? Let’s open our eyes, look all over, at every turn! ” — *awestruck*

    Like

  2. Swati
    June 20, 2013

    ◕‿◕
    Means a lot to me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2013 by in busy life, http://schemas.google.com/blogger/2008/kind#post, Photography.

Navigation

All Rights Reserved

Disclaimer on Images

Utmost care has been taken while posting the relevant images on this website. Either they are taken from free images or after acquiring permissions. However, if there is an image appearing on this website that belongs to you and you do not wish for it appear on this site, please E-mail with a link to said image and it will be promptly removed. Images on this blog are copyright to its respectful owners.
